
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Is it possible to own multiple copies of the same Technology card at the same time?

Yes, but only one Technology card can be purchased per round during Phase E.

Do you need to own the first-level cards of a specific type of technology before you can purchase a 
card of a higher level? (For example, do you need the level 1 and 2 Technology cards of cultural type to buy 
the level 3 one?)

No, you can buy the technology card of your choice as long as you can pay for it with the research points of the correct type.

How do you integrate the promotional Leaders and Wonders cards into the game?

Simply remove from the base game the corresponding number of Leader and/or Wonder cards of the same type as the cards you wish to 
add. (For example, if you wish to include a level 2 Leader goodies card of military type, you need to randomly and secretly remove a level 
2 Leader card of military type). However, if you have a set of Leader/Wonder goodies cards of all types and of the same level, then you can 
include them all into the game without removing any cards.

When the ‘First Philosophers’ Challenge card comes into play, when does its power become effec-
tive?

The challenge is resolved during phase F of round 3, and its effect are used for the first time during phase D of round 4

What happens to the Leaders and Wonders cards that are not purchased?

They remain available. The markets empty only through the purchase of cards.

The Egyptian civilization board, board number 1, offers various benefits including a population 
bonus. When applying this bonus, my Civilization token lands on a space featuring an Ambassador 
cube. Can I still claim this cube even though my advancement is due to a starting bonus?

Yes.

What is the purpose of the excess meeple stickers on the sheet?

Among the different stickers, choose the one you like the most to stick on the red meeple.
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ERRATUM

Spiritual Challenge: Humanitarian Sharing (D-42)

The card specifies that ‘If the first level 
of Philosophy is reached or exceeded, 
all players gain, or gain again, the 
benefit of the first level.’ The compen-
dium differs and states: ‘If the second 
level of Philosophy...

The card is accurate; the compendium 
is incorrect.

Scientific Challenge: Thales’s Theorem (D5)

The compendium states: ‘ Until the 
end of the game, the cost of Level 
II and III Wonders is reduced by 1 
Builder.»

It should state: ‘Until the end of the ga-
me,the purchase cost of level II and III 
Wonders of Scientific type is reduced 
by 1 Builder.

Industrial Leader : Aganice of Thessaly (L-10)

The compendium states: «As long as this 
Leader is alive, the player immediately 
gains 2 Victory Points with each purchase 
of a Wonder.»

It should states: «As long as this Leader is 
alive, the player immediately gains 2 Victory 
Points everytime they purchase a Wonder.»

This icon indicates that the effect only applies 
once, as soon as the player possesses one or 
more of these cards.

(Compendium) « At least one time »

Industrial Challenge: Invention of Paper (D-27)

A ‘1 Max’ logo is missing below the ar-
row. The logo indicates that the effect 
only applies once from the moment 
you possess one or more cards.

Industrial Challenge: Military Heritage (D-36)

A ‘No Max’ logo is missing below the 
arrow. The rules on page 16 should 
help understand this effect: ‘A player 
can benefit from the same bonus an 
unli- mited number of times as long as 
they are able to pay for it or meet the 
prerequisite multiple times. Sometimes 
a maximum number of times is speci-
fied on the card.’ 

(Rules) Page 4: Player Area

It is specified that the civilization boards should be distributed respecting the order of the board numbers. This is not a requirement but a 
suggestion for the first few games. Feel free to play with the Civilization boards of your choice.

(Rules) Page 12: Progression of Philosophy

The image used to illustrate progress on the Philosophy track shows an advancement from level 1 to level 2, but it is in fact a progression 
from level 2 to level 3.


